DUI Defense In Melbourne, The Space Coast And Treasure Coast Region
You Can Contest Your Charges
If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI), you are facing a criminal charge, not a traffic offense. You have the right to speak with a lawyer before entering a plea. Many people do not realize that pleading guilty to the charge is the equivalent of a conviction.
At Platt Hopwood Russell & Cole, we defend people charged with DUI in Florida. We understand the consequences that a conviction will have on your driving privileges, criminal record and auto insurance.
Our defense attorneys will investigate the evidence and discuss your options with you. When going to trial is in your best interests, we will litigate aggressively on your behalf. Contact us to schedule a free consultation.
Fighting Severe Drunk Driving Penalties in Florida
People are often surprised at the harsh nature of DUI penalties. In Florida, penalties for conviction of DUI with a blood alcohol content between .08 and .14 percent include:
For a first DUI conviction:
- A fine between $250 and $500
- Up to six months in jail
- A driver’s license revocation between 180 days and one year
For a second DUI conviction within five years:
- A fine between $500 and $1,000
- Up to nine months in jail
- A driver’s license revocation of at least five years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least one year
You have only 10 days from the arrest to request a hearing with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to protect your driving privileges. If you miss this deadline, you miss the opportunity to restore your driver’s license. We can represent you at this administrative hearing.
We also defend people charged with refusal to take an Intoxilyzer test. The penalties for refusing a breath test can be as harsh as DUI penalties. We have experience with these cases and can advise you on your options.