Platt Hopwood Russell & Cole PLLC
Serving Brevard County and Florida’s Space Coast Region
We are here to help. Start with a free consultation.
Platt Hopwood Russell & Cole PLLC
We are here to help. Start with a free consultation.
Family Law
Personal Injury
Criminal Defense

What To Do If Your Child Faces DUI Charges

| Jan 3, 2019 | Drunk Driving |

Teens and young adults have a reputation for acting recklessly. But, if your child has neglected to stay sober while behind the wheel of a car, they’re about to learn how harsh the repercussions of this dangerous act can be.

For the best chance at saving your child’s educational, occupational and housing opportunities, follow these steps after learning about the charges.

1. Keep quiet until you have an attorney

If you get the first call from home, encourage your child to keep quiet until you’ve secured legal counsel.

Using an attorney to speak on your child’s behalf can help ensure he or she does not accidentally say something incriminating.

Further, establish a rule that nothing regarding the case should be texted, shared to social media or emailed to friends.

2. Secure legal counsel

A criminal defense attorney knows the in’s and out’s of Florida law and can work to lessen or dismiss the charges.

An attorney will also help you to meet important deadlines related to the charges.

3. Prepare for the consequences

The consequences for a DUI largely depend on whether your child is 18 years or older. Those who are 18 or older will be punished according to the criminal justice system, while minors will follow the juvenile system.

Flordia DUI’s come with a minimum license suspension or revocation of six months for the first offense. The length of the suspension will increase with subsequent violations. Secondary offenders will also be required to spend at least 10 days in jail.

Defendants may also have their vehicle confiscated and be subject to an ignition interlock device.

Lastly, the incident will take a financial toll. Defendants can face court fees, attorney fees, fines related to the charge.

Get help sooner

Alcohol-related crashes are the leading cause of death among those aged 18-25 nationwide. If your child was lucky enough to make it through the incident without any severe injuries to themselves or others, now is the time to learn the lesson.

Seek the counsel of a skilled attorney to learn more about strategies you may be able to use to help your child learn from this and get the best outcome from their case.

FindLaw Network

Client Testimonials

Simply the BEST representation available in Brevard County
~ Carol

Client Testimonials

Expert, Professional, Courteous, and above all else…Relentless
~ Wendell

Client Testimonials

An attorney who will fight for you.
~ Jacqueline

Client Testimonials

By far the Best Around
~ Jamie